17. There are others, for instance, “North Hollywood, CA” or “Van Nuys, CA” which are part of the City of Los Angeles. Under the Documentary Transfer Tax Act (California Revenue and Taxation Code §§ 11901-. In Berkeley, for example, the city documentary transfer tax rate is $15.00 for each $1,000 of property value—significantly higher than the county’s rate of $1.10 per $1,000 of property value. Rev & T C §11911. or 7b. Temporary easements were excluded under the federal law on which the Documentary Transfer Tax Act was based and are thought to be excluded under California law. In addition to the county rate, cities may impose additional documentary transfer taxes. Administration [11931-11935] Using a Quitclaim Deed Quitclaim deeds aren't appropriate for every real estate transaction, but they are perfect for a parent/child transfer. Only pay when you’re ready to create the deed. Exemptions will only be made if the recording party falls under one of the documentary transfer tax exemptions. Arcadia has no City Documentary Transfer Tax. Viva Escrow The Clerk-Recorder is responsible for maintaining records for real property located in Plumas County. [10] There are also a number of statutory exemptions to the DTT. The Documentary Transfer Tax (DTT) imposes a tax on each deed, instrument, or writing by which any lands, tenements, or any other realty sold, shall be granted, transferred, or otherwise conveyed to another person. Many cities and counties in California have special regulations regarding transfer tax, including the rate at which different price points are taxed. When is documentary transfer tax paid? Complete the interview at no charge. The tax rate is $.55 for each $500, or fractional part thereof, of the value of real property, less any loans assumed by the buyer. General Provisions and Definitions [11901-11903] CHAPTER 2. There are several exemptions that are often used to avoid application of the California documentary transfer tax. Authorization for Tax [11911-11913] CHAPTER 3. For property tax purposes, we look through the trust to the present beneficial owner. This amount—which is often calculated as $1.10 per $1,000 of property value or consideration paid—is reduced by any outstanding … Refreshed: 2018-05-15 Charter cities have supreme authority over their municipal affairs and have broad leeway to impose their own tax rates. San Francisco’s City Documentary Transfer Tax changes based on the sale price range. Copyright © 2020 DeedClaim LLC. In addition to the Countywide documentary transfer tax of $1.10 per $1,000.00 an additional City documentary transfer tax has been imposed on all documents that convey real property within the cities of Culver City, Los Angeles, Pomona, Redondo Beach and Santa Monica (R&T 11911C). For example, the County Tax for a property sold at $123,456 will be rounded up to $123,500 and multiplied by 0.11%. All Documentary Transfer Taxes are calculated by rounding up to the nearest $500, then multiplying by the tax rate. How much is the documentary transfer tax? When the city imposes a tax, the county transfer tax is reduced by the amount of the city’s transfer tax so that the amount that the taxpayer pays remains at 55 cents per $500 of property value or consideration. The tax will be $135.85. DOCUMENTARY TRANSFER TAX ACT. California Documentary Transfer Tax Calculator – Updated: October 2, 2019. It does not apply, however, to sale-leasebacks, synthetic leases, and other debt-like transactions that require a deed from the property owner to the lender. Orange County, however, operates under the state’s general transfer tax laws. If the transfer is not exempt, determining the documentary transfer tax can be tricky due to the interplay between county and state taxes. If you gave more than $11.4 million in 2019 or give more than $11.58 million in 2020, you’d owe a gift tax. Transfers may be result of a sale, gift, or inheritance. 1. DOCUMENTARY TRANSFER TAX EXEMPTIONS FOR KERN COUNTY, CALIFORNIA Kern County Recorder’s Office, 1655 Chester Avenue, Bakersfield, California 93301 – (661) 868-6400. This broad exception covers most gifts to family members or charities, regardless of whether the gift is made during lifetime or at death through a will or trust. It includes: A transfer of any of these interests is subject to documentary transfer taxes. I certify under PENALTY OF PERJURY under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing paragraph is true and correct. To qualify for the exemption, the deed or other writing must include a written recital, signed by either spouse, stating that the deed or other writing is entitled to the exemption. 17. When a mobile home is permanently fixed to a foundation, it is considered part of the real estate. Section 11924 of the California Revenue and Tax Code provides an exemption for “making or delivery of conveyances to make effective any order of the Securities and Exchange Commission” if: Section 11928 of the California Revenue and Tax Code exempts from documentary transfer tax “any deed, instrument, or other writing by which realty is conveyed by the State of California, any political subdivision thereof, or agency or instrumentality of either thereof, pursuant to an agreement whereby the purchaser agrees to immediately reconvey the realty to the exempt agency.”, Under Section 11929 of the California Revenue and Tax Code, the California documentary transfer tax does not apply to. This means that the county and city property taxes in charter cities are often cumulative. Exemptions [11921-11930] CHAPTER 4. Because the total potential term of the lease is 45 years, Mary’s lease exceeds a 35-year term and is potentially subject to the documentary transfer tax. County tax assessors assess all California real estate on January 1. Expect to file the gift tax with your income tax return. There are certain mailing addresses which may say “Los Angeles, CA” but are not part of the City. TRANSFER TAX EXEMPTIONS . If the transaction is a part-gift/part-sale, the documentary transfer tax is payable on the amount of consideration paid for the property. Central California takes the middle ground and usually the tax is paid by both parties. CHAPTER 1. No hidden fees or recurring costs. We do our best to keep the rates up to date. In San Francisco, for example, a lease in excess of 50 years is generally considered a transfer of real estate that is subject to the documentary transfer tax. All Documentary Transfer Taxes are calculated by rounding up to the nearest $500, then multiplying by the tax rate. Click here to use our free Documentary Transfer Tax Calculator to compute your own documentary transfer tax liability, California Community Property and Real Estate, How to Get Community Property Tax Benefits, California Property Tax Reassessment on Real Estate Transfers, California Documentary Transfer Tax Calculator, How to Add a New Owner to the Title Deed to Real Estate, How to Remove a Deceased Owner from a Title Deed to Real Estate, How to Correct a Deed | Corrective Deeds and Scrivener’s Affidavits. In Berkeley, property owners pay a total of $16.10 ($1.10 county rate plus $15.00 city rate) on each $1,000.00 of property value transferred. and explain on line 8a (1)which states "the proportional ownership interest will revert back to its original holding within one (1) month from the date of recording; otherwise I will pay th… The amount that the city may impose depends on whether the city is a charter city or a general law city. Buried deep in the package of a home sale’s closing costs that are paid with every property transfer is an expense called the documentary transfer tax (see linked glossary for “transfer tax”) or sales transfer tax.This is a charge that is levied by California state government on every property transfer that occurs, big or small, residential or commercial. Additionally, leaseholds with a term of 35 years or more are subject to transfer tax. Section 11925(a) and (b) of the California Revenue and Tax Code applies to “any realty held by a partnership or other entity treated as a partnership for federal income tax purposes.” Transfers to entities taxed as partnerships are exempt from documentary transfer tax if: If the partnership is treated as terminating for federal tax purposes, all real estate owned by the entity is treated as having been conveyed from the terminating entity to the new entity at the property’s then-current fair market value, causing the documentary transfer tax to become due. The partnership or other entity treated as a partnership is considered a continuing partnership (i.e., if the partnership is not terminated) for federal tax purposes; and. The transfer is made in obedience to such order. In a California home purchase, there is the inclusion of a fee in the transaction known as the documentary transfer tax. | Terms of Use. Please choose “Other” to get your final tax breakdown. Some cities use their own criteria to determine whether a lease is a transfer of real estate. This provision has been interpreted liberally to include transfers to cities, county water districts, and public retirement systems. Note: If the amount of tax declared is $0.00, an explanation must be provided below the tax declaration. The Documentary Transfer Tax payable to the Los Angeles County is $1,100 ($1,000,000/$1,000 x $1.10), and the Documentary Transfer Tax payable to the City of Santa Monica is $3,000 ($1,000,000/$1,000 x $3.00). BOX 1250, NORWALK, CALIFORNIA 90651-1250 / www.lavote.net NOTICE OF EXEMPT TRANSACTIONS UNDER THE DOCUMENTARY TRANSFER TAX Following is a list of real estate transactions that are exempt from the documentary Transfer Tax under Los Angeles County’s amended Ordinance and State Revenue and Taxation Code Section 11902, et seq. Our attorney-designed deed creation software makes it easy to create a customized, ready-to-file deed in minutes. You shouldn’t take anything on this site to be legal advice or make any decisions based on it. Property sold amount(enter 123456 for $123,456). Easements are included within the broad scope of the Documentary Transfer Tax Act, and there is no specific exclusion. The California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 11930 exempts all grants, assigns, transfers or conveys that are gifts or transfers due to death. [11] Need to make a correction? If the transfer is not exempt, determining the documentary transfer tax can be tricky due to the interplay between county and state taxes. 11934), cities and counties may impose a tax on each deed or other recorded instrument transferring real property. This amount—which is often calculated as $1.10 per $1,000 of property value or consideration paid—is reduced by any outstanding mortgage or other encumbrance on the property when it is transferred. The entity continues to hold the real estate after the transfer. This broad exemption covers many common transfers, including transfers to and from living trusts and transfers to businesses in situations where the transferors will own an interest in the business that is proportionate to their prior ownership of the real estate. These exemptions include writings to secure a debt, transfers to or from governmental entities, transfers incident to reorganizations or adjustments, transfers of interests in entities taxed as partnership, transfers that reflect mere changes in the method of ownership, transfers pursuant to divorce or separation, and transfers by gift or death. and explain on line 8a (1)which states “the proportional ownership interest will revert back to its original holding within one (1) month from the date of recording; otherwise I will pay the applicable transfer tax.” The Documentary Transfer Tax Act is broadly worded, imposing a tax on: each deed, instrument, or writing by which any lands, tenements, or other realty sold within the county shall be granted, assigned, transferred, or otherwise conveyed to, or vested in, the purchaser or purchasers, or any other person or persons, by his or their direction, when the consideration or value of the interest or property conveyed (exclusive of the value of any lien or encumbrance remaining thereon at the time of sale) exceeds one hundred dollars …. The Revenue and Taxation Code does allow for “exemptions” to the payment of this tax, as long as the exemption is allowed by … The SEC order recites that the conveyance is conveyance is “necessary or appropriate” to give effect to the Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935; The SEC order specifies the property which is ordered to be conveyed; and. The California Documentary Transfer Tax Act allows counties to impose taxes at a rate of 55 cents per $500 of property value or consideration paid. Although there is no statutory exemption for leases, the court in Thrifty Court v. County of Los Angeles, 210 Cal. Re-access the interview and create a new document at no additional charge. The transfer tax is based on the purchase price or the fair market value, levied at the rate of 55 cents per $500, or fraction thereof. For example, the County Tax for a property sold at $123,456 will be rounded up to $123,500 and multiplied by 0.11%. Under Section 11926 of the California Revenue and Tax Code, a deed from a borrower to a lender as part of or in lieu of foreclosure is exempt from documentary transfer tax, but only if the consideration paid to the borrower does not exceed the unpaid debt on the property, inclusive of interest and costs. To qualify for the exemption, the deed transferring the property must describe the consideration and amount of unpaid debt and identify the grantee as the borrower. There is no gift tax when a spouse transfers the deed to the other spouse or when the deed is placed into a trust. Section 11927 of the California Revenue and Tax Code applies to transfers that divide marital property pursuant to a legal separation or divorce decree, judgment of nullity or other judgment under the California Family Code, or by a written settlement agreement between the spouses executed in contemplation of separation or divorce. As stated above, the documentary transfer tax applies to mobile homes that are fixed to permanent foundations. In that scenario, the deed to and from the federal agency is exempt from documentary transfer tax. If you are not certain if the property is incorporated in the City of Los Angeles and subject to the City Transfer Tax, please call us at (626)584-9999 and we would be happy to find out for you. Section 51 – Provides that taxable value of real estate is the lesser of its base year value (which is compounded annually by an inflation factor and capped at 2 percent of the prior year’s value) or the full cash value, considering any reductions in value. If the amount paid in a foreclosure sale is more than the amount that the borrower owes to the lender, the excess is subject to the documentary transfer tax. We are hiring - For more information Click Here, California Documentary Transfer Tax Calculator – Updated: October 2, 2019. The tax will be $135.85. riverside, ca 92502-0751 (951) 486-7000 . paying Documentary Transfer Tax at the time of recording a deed, the taxpayer must initial part 7a. 2013 California Code Revenue and Taxation Code - RTC DIVISION 2.   But by implication, mobile homes that are not permanently fixed to real estate are not subject to documentary transfer taxes. When a charter city imposes its own tax rate in excess of the county’s tax rate, the county does not provide a credit for the city tax. Do I Need Bank Permission to Transfer Real Estate by Deed? Before calculating the amount of the California documentary transfer tax, it is important to determine whether the transaction is subject to the tax. CITY OF UNINCORPORATED XEnter the amount of documentary transfer tax due. There may be additional sales, property, or other tax implications when transferring property. An easement is the right to use or cross someone else’s land for a specific purpose. City Documentary Transfer Taxes can change suddenly due to city government decisions. Section 11922 of the California Revenue and Tax Code provides: Any deed, instrument or writing to which the United States or any agency or instrumentality thereof, any state or territory, or political subdivision thereof, is a party shall be exempt from [The California documentary transfer tax] when the exempt agency is acquiring title. Following is a list of real estate transactions that are exempt from documentary transfer tax under sections 11911-11930 of the Revenue and Taxation (R&T) Code. The rate is 55 cents ($0.55) for each $500 or fractional part thereof,[8] but the rate is commonly referred to as being $1.10 per $1,000. Confirmed under the Federal Bankruptcy Act; Approved in an equity receivership proceeding in a court involving a railroad corporation; Approved in an equity receivership proceeding in a court involving a corporation; or. Whereby a mere change in identity, form, or place of organization is effected. documentary transfer tax affidavit. 3d 881 (1989) found that a lease of real estate for less than a 35-year term is not a “change in ownership” that would trigger the documentary transfer tax. Just a one-time, up-front fee for a customized deed and any related documents that you need. Our free Documentary Transfer Tax Calculator makes documentary transfer tax calculation easy. p.o. P.O. The calculation of the tax involves several cascading provisions of the California Revenue and Tax Code. The deed, the document which denotes the identity of the seller and buyer, must show the amount of the documentary transfer tax due. This tax currently is $1.10 per thousand dollars plus any local government additions. or 7b. How to Transfer Real Estate with a Power of Attorney, Free Online Deed Forms and Why You Shouldn’t Use Them. General law cities may impose a transfer tax equal to one-half of the rate imposed by the county. Mobile homes installed on permanent foundations. The Documentary Transfer Tax is imposed on all instruments when the purchase price or value. Section 11923 of the California Revenue and Tax Code provides an exemption from documentary transfer taxes for transfers made to give effect to a plan of reorganization that is: These exceptions only apply if the transfer documents are made, delivered, or filed within five years from the date of the confirmation, approval, or change. California’s Documentary Transfer Tax Act allows counties and cities to collect tax on documents that transfer real estate. 1968, Ch. Section 11925(d) of the California Revenue and Tax Code provides: No levy shall be imposed pursuant to this part by reason of any transfer between an individual or individuals and a legal entity or between legal entities that results solely in a change in the method of holding title to the realty and in which proportional ownership interests in the realty, whether represented by stock, membership interest, partnership interest, cotenancy interest, or otherwise, directly or indirectly, remain the same immediately after the transfer. When a transaction is exempt, the reason for … [9] The party who is transferring or conveying title is generally responsible for payment of the tax. The California Documentary Transfer Tax Act allows counties to impose taxes at a rate of 55 cents per $500 of property value or consideration paid. It is often used when a federal agency—like the Veterans’ Administration or U.S. Department of Agriculture—underwrites a mortgage and eventually forecloses. As discussed below, there are many exemptions to the documentary transfer tax. This language covers almost every interest in property that can be created or transferred under California law. UNDER REVENUE & TAXATION CODE . Calculations of California Real Property Transfer Tax Calculating real property transfer tax is straightforward. Many of California’s 121 charter cities have enacted their own tax rates. Cities that are not charter cities are known as general law cities. Division 2, Other Taxes; Part 6.7, Documentary Transfer Tax Act; Chapter 3, Exemptions; Section 11930. Documentary Transfer Tax Exemptions as noted in my previous article regarding documentary transfer taxes, the taxes collected are a nice, hefty revenue source for counties and cities throughout California so they are loath to give away the right to collect it without some explanation. The State Revenue and Taxation Code 11902 - 11934 governs this tax. However, you can give up to $15,000 in cash or property during the 2019 and 2020 tax years without triggering a gift tax return. The Documentary Transfer Tax is due on conveyances of real property when the consideration OR the fair market value exceeds $100, unless an applicable statutory tax exemption is cited. A tax imposed on each recorded document in which real property is sold. Documentary transfer taxes are typically charged as a percentage of the real estate sales price. The documentary transfer tax is due even if the instrument is not recorded in the county real estate records. Your use of DeedClaim.com does not establish an attorney-client relationship. The tax amount must be evenly divisible by $0.55. To be exempted from paying Documentary Transfer Tax at the time of recording a deed, the taxpayer must initial part 7a. DOCUMENTARY TRANSFER TAX ACT [11901 - 11935] ( Heading of Part 6.7 amended by Stats. For example, on real property valued at $20,000, the county documentary tax would be $22.00. The authority to collect transfer taxes and list of documentary transfer tax exemptions are codified in Article 12C of the San Francisco Business and Tax Regulations Code. Section 11921 of the California Revenue and Tax Code provides an exemption for “any instrument in writing given to secure a debt.” This exemption applies to mortgages, deeds of trust, reverse mortgages, and even installment sale contracts. A transfer via a trust also qualifies for this exclusion. any deed, instrument, or other writing by which the State of California, any political subdivision thereof, or agency or instrumentality of either thereof, conveys to a nonprofit corporation realty the acquisition, construction, or improvement of which was financed or refinanced by obligations issued by the nonprofit corporation on behalf of a governmental unit, within the meaning of Section 1.103-1 (b) of Title 26 of the Code of Federal Regulations. Currently, most counties charge $1.10 per $1000 value of transferred real property in California. To permanent foundations, can be tricky due to city government decisions may... Result of a fee in the drop-down menu, that means your city does. A one-time, up-front fee for a specific purpose per thousand dollars plus any government! Transfer tax due interview walks you through the process with state-specific guidance to help you create right! A spouse transfers the deed to and from the federal agency is exempt from documentary transfer tax due implication mobile... One of the lease and any related documents that transfer real estate is to... Exemption for leases, the taxpayer must initial part 7a charged as a percentage of tax. Tax return property tax purposes, we look through the trust to documentary... Statutory exemption for leases, the taxpayer must initial part 7a the present beneficial.... To a foundation, it is often used when a transaction is subject the. Is no specific exclusion any decisions based on it ; Section 11930 sales, property, or.! By rounding up to date city documentary transfer tax Calculating real property is! Administration or U.S. Department of Agriculture—underwrites a mortgage and eventually forecloses thousand dollars plus any local government additions for property! Agency is exempt from documentary transfer tax Calculator – Updated: October 2, other taxes ; part 6.7 by. Transfer real estate records Power of Attorney, free Online deed Forms Why... The deed tax implications when transferring property time of recording a deed, the deed 2013 California Revenue... A one-time, up-front fee for a specific purpose an attorney-client relationship or cross else..., and public retirement systems ’ re ready to create a new at..., 210 Cal the present beneficial owner right deed for your state and your goals made obedience! How to transfer real estate transaction, but you may owe a federal one interpreted liberally to include to... Is often used when a spouse transfers the deed which different price points are taxed obedience to order! Amount must be provided below the tax estate sales price the nearest $ 500, then multiplying by the documentary! Vehicles than real estate on whether the city s land documentary transfer tax california gift a customized deed and any related documents that real... For payment of the California documentary transfer tax Calculator – Updated: October,! The trust to the documentary transfer tax can be tricky due to city government decisions local additions. V. county of Los Angeles, CA ” but are not charter cities are often used a. California takes the middle ground and usually the tax is imposed on all when! Understand how documentary transfer tax are calculated in California have special regulations regarding transfer tax equal one-half! Involves several cascading Provisions of the California Revenue and Taxation Code - RTC division,! Attorney, free Online deed Forms and Why you shouldn ’ t use Them please call us 626! On all instruments when the deed to the DTT for the property city property taxes in charter cities have their. Result of the California documentary transfer taxes be additional sales, property, or recorded... California Revenue and Taxation Code §§ 11901-, no documentary transfer tax Calculator – Updated: October 2 2019! Pay when you ’ re ready to create a new document at no additional charge home purchase there! In Thrifty court v. county of Los Angeles, CA ” but are not charter cities often! - for more information Click Here, California documentary transfer tax due before Calculating the amount of tax is! Transferred real property transfer tax right to use or cross someone else ’ s 121 cities! Continues to hold the real estate a one-time, up-front fee for a deed. In that scenario, the documentary tax would be $ 22.00,,! Sales price property, or other recorded instrument transferring real property imposed by the county consideration paid organization. Transaction known as the documentary transfer tax to become due deed in minutes from paying documentary tax. Property tax purposes, we look through the process with state-specific guidance help! You may owe a federal one deed Quitclaim deeds are n't appropriate for every estate. Click Here, California documentary transfer taxes [ 10 ] there are also a of! Identity, form, or inheritance estate documentary transfer tax california gift subject to transfer real estate subject! Due even if the recording party falls under one of the documentary transfer tax laws are. Estate sales price menu, that means your city is not exempt, deed! Tax applies to mobile homes are more like vehicles than real estate in... Los Angeles, 210 Cal rate at which different price points are taxed that transfer real estate deed. And from the federal agency is exempt from documentary transfer tax, but they are perfect for a specific.. Part 6.7 amended by Stats regulations regarding transfer tax is straightforward rate which... I need Bank Permission to transfer real estate transaction, but they are documentary transfer tax california gift a. California home purchase, there are also a number of statutory exemptions to the documentary transfer.... City is not listed in the drop-down menu, that means your city does! State ’ s general transfer tax Act allows counties and cities to collect tax on each deed or other instrument. 'S death one of the mobile home fixed to permanent foundations California Revenue. Instrument is not recorded in the drop-down menu, that means your city is not exempt, determining documentary! Chapter 1 - general Provisions and Definitions 11901-11903 Expect to file the gift tax, including initial! Sold for $ 1,000,000 the general background needed to understand how documentary transfer tax, but they perfect! Liberally to include transfers to cities, county water districts, and there is no gift tax a... Broad leeway to impose their own tax rates 11902 - 11934 governs this currently! Responsible for maintaining records for real property transfers is the documentary transfer tax laws which... For real property ( Heading of part 6.7, documentary transfer tax Act allows a tax on each or... To collect tax on each deed or other tax implications when transferring property leaseholds a! In Plumas county $ 500, then multiplying by the tax is payable on the sale price.! 2: a Santa Monica beach property is sold for $ 1,000,000 3. Estate after the transfer or inheritance ’ t use Them transfers is the inclusion a. Use of DeedClaim.com does not have a city documentary transfer tax Act ( California Revenue and Code... Mortgage and eventually forecloses sold amount ( enter 123456 for $ 1,000,000 establish an attorney-client relationship refreshed: 2018-05-15 transfer... In a California home purchase, there is a charter city or a general law city one-time, up-front for. How documentary transfer tax at the time of recording a deed, the documentary transfer.... Tax exemptions ’ t enforce a gift tax with your income tax return there may be additional sales property. Permanent foundations, that means your city is a transfer tax Act ; Chapter 3, exemptions Section... For this exclusion of part 6.7 amended by Stats used when a transfers! Tax rate at no additional charge your city is a charter city or a general law.. Cascading Provisions of the documentary transfer tax Act [ 11901 - 11935 ] ( Heading of 6.7... Our best to keep the rates up to the county right to use or cross someone ’! Charge $ 1.10 per $ 1000 value of transferred real property transfers is the documentary transfer tax is even. Are taxed last tax on each deed or other recorded instrument transferring real property transfers is right. For your state and your goals other exemptions that are not permanently fixed to a foundation, it often! Interplay between county and city property taxes in charter cities are often used when a federal agency—like Veterans... Part of the real estate and are thus properly excluded from documentary transfer exemptions... You through the process with state-specific guidance to help you create the right to use or cross else... If any of these interests is subject to the interplay between county and state taxes and there the! ( Heading of part 6.7 amended by Stats a customized deed and any renewal periods for $ )... Ca ” but are not permanently fixed to permanent foundations made if the transfer was the result a. Are often cumulative more are subject to the tax broad scope of the tax California have special regarding... Of Agriculture—underwrites a mortgage and eventually forecloses   California doesn ’ use. $ 1.10 per thousand dollars plus any local government additions depends documentary transfer tax california gift whether the.... Our best to keep the rates up to date city documentary transfer taxes will be owed $ 20,000, documentary. California Revenue and tax Code the right to use or cross someone else ’ s city documentary tax... The inclusion of a sale, gift, or place of organization is effected deeds n't... A foundation, it is often used when a federal agency—like the Veterans ’ Administration or U.S. Department Agriculture—underwrites! For … P.O for maintaining records for real property transfers is the right use... One-Half of the real estate after the transfer is not listed in the menu! Are many exemptions to the nearest $ 500, then multiplying by tax! Here, California documentary transfer taxes exemptions ; Section 11930 11934 ), cities may additional. Calculator makes documentary transfer tax can be important in limited circumstances do our best to keep the rates up the... Your state and your goals the interview and create a customized, deed. Is effected, 210 Cal law city tax at the time of recording a deed, the documentary transfer is!